Getting Bottom of the Things

April 26, 2018
software framework Apprenticeship

How do you know that you are capable enough, if you are always depend on the frameworks. React, webpack and the environment built around them was my entry point to all kind of projects lately. Even if having a solid playground configuration speed up things, as time passes, they make you more dependant.

I was aware of my dependence to the frameworks, but I was also too lazy to get out of my comfort zone. As suggested in the Apprenticeship Patterns, I have decided to expose and confront my ignorance. I have started a dashboard project without any major framework. I only used a chart library to draw the chart, else is completely framework free. As I progress through the project, I also remember techniques which are buried in my mind.

Remembering old techniques isn’t only exciting thing, I also had chance to experiment newly introduced features. I have imported my ES6+ scripts as module to the page without transpiling them. It’s a huge freedom to see your changes right away, without waiting for transpilation. Even though these features don’t have wide support yet, I hope in the future, web will be a place which we don’t need to transpile. If module makes it, we will be able sail to the new horizons.